Releasing plugins on macOS - what you need to know

dast

I am not an expert with macOS, nor development under Xcode, but for a few years I have been able to create plugins on Cinema4D running on Windows (Visual Studio) and port these to macOS (Xcode).

Now, I recently heard about the need to "notarize" plugins on macOS, and was wondering what this is all about.

Up to now I used to compile for R16-R21, and could do so on macOS Maverick (R16-R18 ?), Sierra (R18-R20), High-Sierra (R21)

Haven't tried S22 or above, and stopped at High-Sierra, since my most recent Mac is a Mac Mini 2012 provided by a generous person. I have an external HD with different partitions, each hosting a particular operating system version.

So far - upto High-Sierra - I haven't had the need to have an Apple developer ID, or notarize anything in order for the plugins to work and be used.

Then what is the deal with notarizing and all this "protection"-stuff I read about. Can someone elaborate?

• Igor featured and pinned this topic

Apple demands modern applications to be notarized. A binary plugin to be linked dynamically into such host app, needs to meet notarization standards, too. Your supported versions and host OS were sufficiently old enough I assume, so it wasn't an issue for you. This is not Maxon's fault, it's an Apple policy.

46 minutes ago, MighT said:

This is not Maxon's fault, it's an Apple policy.

I never implied this was something Maxon related. Sorry if I gave this impression.

The topic of this new Apple policy was brought up in the "R25 expectations" topic, and I wanted to discuss this development issue in more detail. Hence created this topic for such discussion what is involved, in order to keep it outside of the original forum thread.

I have just googled the topic a bit, and apparently:

1. You need a developer ID to notarize your apps

2. Developer ID costs money

3. This is a yearly subscription. If you don't pay your fees, your developer certificate is revoked.