quadsdamage Sketchbook Vol 01 - Beginner Journey

quadsdamage

So, it's been a while that i'm browsing the core. After some time, I think it's time to share some pixels, right?
Not great pixels yet, because I'm still learning. But, I'll try to add some humor and notes of each mindset I was at the time of creating that piece and what I've learned since then. 

So, here we go:

Rubik's Cube
rqKNpMR.png

Mindset on doing it: 
It was pretty clear that I wanted to do a rubik's just because of the MoGraph/Cloner on C4D. At that time, I was extravagant on the bevel levels. 
What I've learned:

Just about anything/model can it start with a simple cube. 

Greek Pillar
fkcImCu.png

Mindset on doing it: 
This was my introduction with creating something without checking tutorials. And my introduction to volume modeling (Which I didn't used much after. More on that story later)
What I've learned:

Volume modeling pretty rocks when it's used for snow, paint brushes, liquid and those tiny details. 

The Biiiird

VCul7h7.png

Mindset on doing it: 
This low poly start actually was because of Blender tutorials. Tried to follow the workflow of how each part could be united just because of the symmetry. 
What I've learned:

Reference image on the background can do wonders

The Well

PNpfKqG.png

Mindset on doing it: 
This one is pretty famous among the Blender folks. The Classic Grant Abbitt Well. It was so fun doing it and really opened the doors for trying more stuff like that on the future. 
What I've learned:
- Placing each pieces in different nulls was amazing to organize  

- Not everything needs to be realistic and low poly can be pretty as well  

Hitchcock Movie Titles

ysoM9Wm.png

Mindset on doing it: 
I was completely lost on the terms/functions/settings that involved GI as a whole. But my eyes started to shine just like this picture, when I was trying it out each render.  
What I've learned:
- Pure black is a NO NO on materials.