octane vs redshift

Hello
I started studying c4d and now I'm going to study renderer for the first time. I'm thinking about which one to choose between octane and redshift. I am interested in artwork that composites live-action videos such as music videos, and I am interested in producing cinematic videos with realistic lighting. Can you recommend which render would be good to study?

Edited by Cerbera
removed formatting (see edit history)

Go for Redshift: more stable and uses  standard workflows that you can easily carry over to other render engines. On the downside, its biased nature implies many parameters that can feel overwhelming for beginners. 

Octane is often said to be better for quick photorealistic results, but it's much less stable and its workflow is more specific. 

1 hour ago, Adrien said:

Go for Redshift: more stable and uses  standard workflows that you can easily carry over to other render engines. On the downside, its biased nature implies many parameters that can feel overwhelming for beginners. 

Octane is often said to be better for quick photorealistic results, but it's much less stable and its workflow is more specific. 

Well in the latest release guys from RS seemed to improve that by adding different UX and UI, so it should be much easier  to get decent results from the get go.

if you are trying to archive realistic results (filmic) go for octane.

It is by far the easiest render engine to achive realistic render results,

If you need a versatile renderer for multi purpose go for redshift.

it is much harder to get realistic looking results, but it is a full fledged production render and can basically do what ever you like.

as both are available for subscription you can easily rent each for one month and decide yourselves.

So the main difference between the two is that Redshift is a "biased" renderer while Octane is "unbiased"